2019 County Awards Day Results

Noel Keller, LA County 4-H Incentives and Recognition Committee Chair

The County Awards Day program for 2018-2019 was held on Saturday, September 28 after the County Council meeting at the Agua Dulce Women's Club building in Agua Dulce. 44 records books (11 Junior, 16 Intermediate and 17 Senior) were submitted for evaluation for awards. We thank all those who volunteered to evaluate the record books for the County Record Book Competition. For the awards event on Sept. 28th, we thank the SSG district for providing the decorations, the SFV district for providing the refreshments, the AV district for providing the publicity and the NSG district for providing the program. LA County 4-H All Star Ambassadors Anissa Foster and Nikki Yunker were the program MC's. We thank all those who helped make this a special occasion. Congratulations to the following for their accomplishments.

For the following awards, the following abbreviations are used for clubs: Racketteers = Leona Valley Racketteers PVP = Palos Verdes Peninsula

RECORD BOOK AWARDS

JUNIOR

Beginning 4-H County Winner - Cordelia LaPlume, PVP Silver Medalist - Genesis Reyes, PVP

Clothing & Textiles County Winner - Sophia Vlach, Racketteers

Cultural and Performing Arts County Winner - Jacob Cook, Canyon Coyotes Silver Medalist - Victoria Jung, PVP

Dogs County Winner – Adrian Haskell, PVP Gardening County Winner - Alexa R. Ryan, PVP

Goats Silver Medalist - Hunter Steinmann, Racketteers

Shooting Sports - Guns Silver Medalist - Garrett Rockey, Racketteers

Swine County Winner - Audrey VanderHyde, Racketteers Silver Medalist - Payton Segale, Quartz Hill

INTERMEDIATE

Arts and Crafts County Winner - Noelle Long, Canyon Coyotes

Bees County Winner – Sophie Kong, PVP

Communications County Winner - Liliana Foster, Greenleaf Cultural and Performing Arts Silver Medalist - Joey Bevilacqua, PVP

Gardening Certificate of Participation - Olive Bevilacqua, PVP

Goats County Winner - Owen Stewart, Canyon Coyotes Heritage Arts County Winner - Emily Aye, PVP

Horses & Ponies Certificate of Achievement - Hannah Parker, PVP

Leadership County Winner - Kaitlyn Hanlon-Scardina, Pomona Valley

Pets and Small Animals County Winner - Sophie Loewner, PVP

Pygmy Goat County Winner - Gavin Litchfield, Westside **Sheep** County Winner - Nathan Kerr, Racketteers

Shooting Sports – **Guns** Certificate of Achievement – Tanner Rockey, Racketteers

Swine County Winner - Aiden Steinmann, Racketteers Silver Medalist - Bryce Segale, Quartz Hill

Veterinarian Science Silver Medalist - Barbara Hull, Canyon Coyotes

<u>SENIOR</u>

Arts & Crafts County Winner - Makenna Long, Canyon Coyotes

Bees County Winner - Christian Cook, Canyon Coyotes

Cavies Silver Medalist - Anika Whipple, Westside

Communications County Winner - Anissa Foster, Greenleaf

Food Preservation County Winner - Ava Stewart, Canyon Coyotes

Foods & Nutrition County Winner - Rebekah Kasperson, Canyon Coyotes

Goats County Winner - Tanner Stewart, Canyon Coyotes Silver Medalist - Evelyne Copeland, Racketteers Horses County Winner - Therese Benz, Canyon Coyotes

Pets & Small Animals County Winner - Sophie Loewner, PVP

Photography County Winner - Nicholas Hartz, Quartz Hill

Poultry County Winner – Isobel Cook, Canyon Coyotes

Sheep County Winner - Keaton Long, Canyon Coyotes

Shooting Sports - Guns County Winner - Jeffrey Abe, Canyon Coyotes

Swine

County Winner – Mark Kasperson, Canyon Coyotes Silver Medalist – Madeline Copeland, Racketteers Silver Medalist – Cameron Long, Canyon Coyotes

CLUB OFFICER BOOKS AWARDS

President

Mark Kasperson, Canyon Coyotes - Gold Medal

Vice-President Nathaniel Boeker, Canyon Coyotes - Gold Medal

Secretary

Ava Stewart, Canyon Coyotes - Gold Medal Anika Whipple, Westside - Gold Medal **Treasurer** Christian Cook, Canyon Coyotes - Gold Medal

Reporter Carter Boeker, Canyon Coyotes - Gold Medal

Historian Makenna Long & Olivia Nibbelink, Canyon Coyotes - Gold Medal

JUNIOR AND TEEN LEADER MERIT AWARDS

Junior Leader Emily Aye, PVP

Teen Leader

Jeffrey Abe, Canyon Coyotes Therese Benz, Canyon Coyotes Nicholas Hartz, Quartz Hill Mark Kasperson, Canyon Coyotes Rebekah Kasperson, Canon Coyotes Ava Stewart, Canyon Coyotes Tanner Stewart, Canyon Coyotes

SENIOR AWARDS OF EXCELLENCE

Senior Award of Excellence in Project Work -Ava Stewart, Canyon Coyotes

Senior Award of Excellence in Healthy Living -

Rebekah Kasperson, Canyon Coyotes

Senior Award of Excellence in Science, Engineering and Technology Not awarded this year

Senior Award of Excellence in Community Service – Sophie Loewner, PVP

Senior Award of Excellence in Leadership – Mark Kasperson, Canyon Coyotes

Senior Award of Excellence in Achievement -Tanner Stewart, Canyon Coyotes